Sponsored by:

2002 Conference on Empirical Methods in Natural Language Processing
(EMNLP 2002)

Call for Papers

SIGDAT, the Association for Computational Linguistics' special interest group on linguistic data and corpus-based approaches to NLP, invites submissions to EMNLP 2002. The conference will be held at University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA on July 6-7, immediately preceding the anniversary 40th meeting of the ACL (ACL 2002).

We are interested in papers from academia, government, and industry on all areas of traditional interest to the SIGDAT community and aligned fields, including but not limited to:

As a follow-up to last year's focus on analyzing the current "Successes and Challenges" in the corpus-based methods, we encourage submissions on the theme

"The Next Big Thing in Data-driven NLP"

We solicit papers that describe attempts to substantially and radically deviate from current practice of simple adaptations of existing and usually well-studied methods. All directions of a venture to a territory previously unknown (or once abandoned for one reason or another) to NLP are welcome, such as but not limited to We stress though that such papers, however radical they content might be, stick to the usual practice of documenting the results using standard experimental and evaluation practice. That does not exclude that authors provide extended final section in their submissions, discussing perhaps even slightly speculatively what the future might look like.


Important Dates

Submission deadline: April 9, 2002
Acceptance notification: May 8, 2002
Camera-ready copy due: May 25/30, 2002 (was: June 6!!) - might still change
Conference: July 6-7, 2002

Conference Organizers and Program Committee Co-chairs

Jan Hajic (chair), Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic (hajic@ufal.mff.cuni.cz)
Yuji Matsumoto (co-chair), Nara Institute of Science and Technology (matsu@is.aist-nara.ac.jp)

Program Committee Technical Assistants:
Barbora Vidova Hladka and Jan Curin, Charles University, Prague.

EMNLP Program Committee Members

Conference URL